BOONER's Blog

Adventures, Photography, And more

New Lens, Sigma 100-300 with the Snowbirds

Leave a comment

I always have wanted a professional level telephoto for my aviation. Late in June I saw a post on Craigslist for the Pentax version of the Sigma 100-300 F4 EX DG, a fantastic lens. This lens works great with a teleconverter and is regarded as one of the best lenses for aviation. This lens has been discontinued so I was excited to find it. Needless to say I purchased it.

For information on this lens see sigma photo

Here is picture of the new lens next to my old telephoto. It is quite the beast

Telephoto Lenses (Sigma 100-300 F4 EX DG & Pentax FA 80-320 F4.5-5.6)

Telephoto Lenses (Sigma 100-300 F4 EX DG & Pentax FA 80-320 F4.5-5.6)

On Wednesday the Sigma had it’s first real test with the snowbirds flying over white rock. Here are a few photos.

Snowbirds coming over the top of a loop in diamon formation

Snowbirds coming over the top of a loop in diamon formation

Snowbirds changing formation in a loop

Snowbirds changing formation in a loop

Snowbird in formation over the ocean

Snowbird in formation over the ocean

Snowbird 8 in an inverted pass

Snowbird 8 in an inverted pass

2 Snowbirds in the mirror roll

2 Snowbirds in the mirror roll

7 snowbirds in formation

7 snowbirds in formation

I barely arrived on time as they started early and my camera settings were not optimal for shooting aviation for much of the time, however the results are still worlds ahead of my old Pentax FA 80-320mm. This lens still requires you to shoot with good technique to get the results, but I think the results are good and will get better as I sharpen my technique.

For the full gallery you can go to my photo gallery site booner.zenfolio.com

Leave a Reply

